63 Countries Vie for 2011 Foreign Language Film Oscar®

Beverly Hills, CA (October 13, 2011) – Sixty-three countries, including first-time entrant New Zealand, have submitted films for consideration in the Foreign Language Film category for the 84th Academy Awards®.
The 2011 submissions are:

  • Albania, "Amnesty," Bujar Alimani, director;
  • Argentina, "Aballay," Fernando Spiner, director;
  • Austria, "Breathing," Karl Markovics, director;
  • Belgium, "Bullhead," Michael R. Roskam, director;
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina,"Belvedere," Ahmed Imamovic, director;
  • Brazil, "Elite Squad: The Enemy Within," José Padilha, director;
  • Bulgaria, "Tilt," Viktor Chouchkov, Jr., director;
  • Canada, "Monsieur Lazhar," Philippe Falardeau, director;
  • Chile, "Violeta Went to Heaven," Andrés Wood, director;
  • China, "The Flowers of War," Zhang Yimou, director;
  • Colombia, "The Colors of the Mountain," Carlos César Arbeláez, director;
  • Croatia, "72 Days," Danilo Serbedzija, director;
  • Cuba, "Havanastation," Ian Padrón, director;
  • Czech Republic,"Alois Nebel," Tomás Lunák, director;
  • Denmark, "Superclásico," Ole Christian Madsen, director;
  • Dominican Republic,"Love Child," Leticia Tonos, director;
  • Egypt, "Lust," Khaled el Hagar, director;
  • Estonia, "Letters to Angel," Sulev Keedus, director;
  • Finland, "Le Havre," Aki Kaurismäki, director;
  • France, "Declaration of War," Valérie Donzelli, director;
  • Georgia, "Chantrapas," Otar Iosseliani, director;
  • Germany, "Pina," Wim Wenders, director;
  • Greece, "Attenberg," Athina Rachel Tsangari, director;
  • Hong Kong,"A Simple Life," Ann Hui, director;
  • Hungary, "The Turin Horse," Béela Tarr, director;
  • Iceland, "Volcano," Rúnar Rúnarsson, director;
  • India, "Abu, Son of Adam," Salim Ahamed, director;
  • Indonesia, "Under the Protection of Ka'Bah," Hanny R. Saputra, director;
  • Iran, "A Separation," Asghar Farhadi, director;
  • Ireland, "As If I Am Not There," Juanita Wilson, director;
  • Israel, "Footnote," Joseph Cedar, director;
  • Italy, "Terraferma," Emanuele Crialese, director;
  • Japan, "Postcard," Kaneto Shindo, director;
  • Kazakhstan, "Returning to the ‘A,’" Egor Mikhalkov-Konchalovsky, director;
  • Lebanon, "Where Do We Go Now?" Nadine Labaki, director;
  • Lithuania, "Back to Your Arms," Kristijonas Vildziunas, director;
  • Macedonia, "Punk Is Not Dead," Vladimir Blazevski, director;
  • Mexico, "Miss Bala," Gerardo Naranjo, director;
  • Morocco, "Omar Killed Me," Roschdy Zem, director;
  • Netherlands, "Sonny Boy," Maria Peters, director;
  • New Zealand,"The Orator," Tusi Tamasese, director;
  • Norway, "Happy, Happy," Anne Sewitsky, director;
  • Peru, "October," Diego Vega and Daniel Vega, directors;
  • Philippines, "The Woman in the Septic Tank," Marlon N. Rivera, director;
  • Poland, "In Darkness," Agnieszka Holland, director;
  • Portugal, "José and Pilar," Miguel Gonçalves Mendes, director;
  • Romania, "Morgen," Marian Crisan, director;
  • Russia, "Burnt by the Sun 2: The Citadel," Nikita Mikhalkov, director;
  • Serbia, "Montevideo: Taste of a Dream," Dragan Bjelogrlić, director;
  • Singapore, "Tatsumi," Eric Khoo, director;
  • Slovak Republic,"Gypsy," Martin Sulík, director;
  • South Africa,"Beauty," Oliver Hermanus, director;
  • South Korea,"The Front Line," Jang Hun, director;
  • Spain, "Black Bread," Agusti Villaronga, director;
  • Sweden, "Beyond," Pernilla August, director;
  • Switzerland, "Summer Games," Rolando Colla, director;
  • Taiwan, "Warriors of the Rainbow: Seediq Bale," Wei Te-sheng, director;
  • Thailand, "Kon Khon," Sarunyu Wongkrachang, director;
  • Turkey, "Once upon a Time in Anatolia," Nuri Bilge Ceylan, director;
  • United Kingdom,"Patagonia," Marc Evans, director;
  • Uruguay, "The Silent House," Gustavo Hernández, director;
  • Venezuela, "Rumble of the Stones," Alejandro Bellame Palacios, director;
  • Vietnam, "The Prince and the Pagoda Boy," Luu Trong Ninh, director.
The 84th Academy Awards nominations will be announced live on Tuesday, January 24, 2012, at 5:30 a.m. PT in the Academy’s Samuel Goldwyn Theater.
Academy Awards for outstanding film achievements of 2011 will be presented on Sunday, February 26, 2012, at the Kodak Theatre at Hollywood & Highland Center®, and televised live by the ABC Television Network.  The Oscar presentation also will be televised live in more than 200 countries worldwide.

No comments:

Post a Comment